23. March 2021 · Write a comment · Categories: Uncategorized
 

My question: I inadvertently created an additional "New Value" that the Registry placed with the others as "New Value #4." I did NOT alter the contents by typing:I was simply exploring.I have not noticed any negative changes in performance. If anything,my WLM 2012 seems to be working even better and faster now!!

Should i delete that entry from the Registry anyway?

Here's the story:This took place long after a live person helped me SUCCESSFULLY execute the instructions shared by many in the Community to fix WLM after a Windows 10 Feature Upgrade ruined it .(Thank you again to all the colleagues who have posted several times about creating the three DWORD entries in the "Windows Live Mail" Registry key,etc.)

My exploration (to see how i could do this repair myself in the future) took me to the menu at the top ,clicked on "Edit", slid down to "New", slid over and down on the submenu and selected "DWORD (32 bit) value".

I saw that an entry formed at the bottom : "New Value #1." I quickly exited without typing anything.

But my curiosity compelled me to go back and repeat everything i had done to see if it was still there.I found it in proper alphabetical position now but I also saw that a new  entry had now formed at the bottom : "New Value #2."  I quickly exited without typing anything.

But my curiosity compelled me to go back and repeat everything i had done to see if it was still there.I found it in proper alphabetical position  now but I also saw that a new  entry had now formed at the bottom : "New Value #3."  I quickly exited without typing anything.

But my curiosity compelled me to go back and repeat everything i had done to see if it was still there.I found it in proper alphabetical position  now but I also saw that a new  entry had now formed at the bottom : "New Value #4."  I quickly exited without typing anything.

They are all set at "0" by the computer automatically.And my WLM 2012 seems to be working even better and faster now!!

Should i use the System Restore Point i created to reverse this adventure? Or:Should i simply delete "New Value #4" from the Registry?  Or leave the Registry as it now is?

  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.