Outlook for Mac

Understanding Database Rebuild Process

待回答 0 个回答

较早的帖子,发布于 2013年9月19日。 其中的信息可能已经过时。

本帖暂无中文翻译,以下为英文原文。

问题 提问于 2013年9月19日
Within Outlook I see two accounts, my personal one and a shared "Support" account for my company. This latter one has more than 2000 folders and 150,000 messages in it; each of our customers has their own folder. Unfortunately, this means that all of these messages are synchronized on my Mac, which is a huge resource and disk space sink but we really don't see a better way to do it right now. It generally works OK, though I get the beachball every couple of minutes while this massive folder tree is resync'ed.

Yesterday, I got a database error and the message that the database needed to be rebuilt. 7 hours later it was done. Turns out the whole Support Tree had been replicated in a "Recovered Folders" folder under my personal account. So basically I now had two copies of these 2000+ folders and 150,000+ messages. So I "deleted" the new copies and now I'm emptying the Deleted Items folder, which is incredibly slow, 100 messages takes about 20 seconds... <groan>

My first question is, once this is done, should I rebuild again to compress the database down to a smaller size or is this done automatically by the database manager. (I know that every message is actually a file in a giant folder list and this space is recovered automatically by the OS. I"m more worried about the "index" file.)

Second question: In my "Documents \ Microsoft User Data \ Office 2011 Identities" folder, I now have two entries, one that says "John Smith" which is about 11GB and the other says "John Smith (Backed up 2013-09-19 02.52.27)", obviously the date and time when the database rebuild was completed, very early this morning. This one is about 22GB. Obviously I want to delete one of them to recover this space. The question is, how do I determine which one Outlook is actually using.

It would seem like the larger one is being used and I can delete the smaller one. However, it's also possible that the database rebuild process starts by making a copy before it rebuilds and perhaps the smaller one is actually production. Also, is the long unwieldy name now my "identity" or would the shorter name remain as the default identity? 

I guess the question is, can I safely delete one of these and if so, which one? Also, if it's the longer one, can I change the name back to the shorter name, or doesn't it matter.

Dan

暂无回答

撰写回答

您的邮箱地址不会被公开。请勿发布密码。

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.